University of Fort Hare-Nursing Department

By |

University of Fort Hare-Nursing Department

University of Fort Hare-Nursing Department

Nursing Science:

The oldest department in the faculty since 1983 with undergraduate degrees such as B Cur and B Cur I et A, postgraduate diploma in Clinical Management of HIV/AIDS, Master with specialities in community health, intensive care, Midwifery, Health Management & Nursing education, and Psychiatric Nursing, a pre-doctoral programme and a PhD.
The department started with 4 B Cur students being situated in Cecilia Makiwane Hospital later moved to All Saints in Bisho and no 45 Commercial Road in East London. It joined the East London campus community in 2011 to occupy its teaching space in the new Teaching and Learning Centre.


The Faculty of Health Sciences endeavours to be competent, committed, vibrant and globally recognised through the provision of excellence in teaching, learning, research and community engagement.


The vision of the Faculty will be achieved through:

  • Discovering a wealth of knowledge within the domain of Health Sciences through rigorous scientific learning and research which is socially and ethically relevant.
  • Preparing future skilled health professionals for service and life-long learning through innovative curricula and individualised quality education experiences.
  • Strengthening health services to improve the health of people living in South Africa and the international community.
  • Generating financial and material resources to enhance its sustainability.
Our transformative values:
  • Excellence
  • Equity
  • Innovation
  • Professionalism

Bachelor of Nursing Admission and Selection requirements:

New National Advanced Qualification (NSC) entry requirements: The four NPC subjects required at Level 4 must meet the following department-specific requirements: 

Qualification Degree Codes Subject Requirements Level of Achievement Total Points Credits
B Nursing 84035 English 4 (50-59%) 20
Mathematics or 4 (50-59%) 20
Mathematical Literacy 5 (60-69%) 20
Physical Science 4 (50-59%) 20
Life Sciences 4 (50-59%) 28/29 20
Life Orientation 4 (50-59%) 10
Any other two subjects from 4 (50-59%) 20
the designated list 4 (50-59%) 20

Minimum entrance requirements (Matric written before 2008) for Bachelor of Nursing programmes are as follows:

Science or Stats
B Nursing Science 32 E(SG) Double points value for Maths and of either Biology or Physical Science

Contact Us:

Prof DT Goon Deputy Dean
AP Okeyo Senior Administrator 043 704 7585
Prof E Seekoe Dean 043 704 9594
Mrs Z Njokweni Administrator 043 704 7581
Mr W Plaatjies Data Capturer 043 704 7197
Mrs SCM Swartbooi Data Capturer 043 704 7593
Mrs S Mentz Financial Manager 043 704 7375
Mrs V van Vurren Students Record Manager 043 704 7658
Mrs B Tutu Administrator 043 704 7337
Mr N Maqubela Computer Lab Technician 043 704 7588
Ms MK Hlabahlaba Administrator 043 704 7331
Mrs AP Okeyo Faculty Manager 043 704 7585

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *