University of Fort Hare Alumini

University of Fort Hare Alumini

The University of Fort Hare is a public university in Alice, Eastern Cape, South Africa. It was a key institution of higher education for black Africans from 1916 to 1959. It offered a Western-style academic education to students from across sub-Saharan Africa, creating a black African elite. Fort Hare alumni were part of many subsequent independence movements and governments of newly independent African countries.
In 1959, the university was subsumed by the apartheid system, but it is now part of South Africa’s post-apartheid public higher education system. It is known for its notable alumni, which include several heads of state and Nobel prize winners.

Notable Alumni:

NameDoB – DoDNotes
Z. K. Matthews1901 – 1968Lectured at Fort Hare from 1936 to 1959
Archibald Campbell Jordan30 October 1906–1968Novelist, pioneer of African studies
Govan Mbeki9 July 1910 – 30 August 2001South African politician
Yusuf Lule1912 – 21 January 1985Interim president of Uganda 1979
Cedric Phatudi27 May 1912 – 7 October 1987Former Chief Minister of Lebowa 1972–1987
Kaiser Matanzima15 June 1915 – 15 June 2003President of bantustan Transkei
Mary Malahlela2 May 1916 – 8 May 1981First female black doctor in South Africa
Oliver Tambo27 October 1917 – 24 April 1993African National Congress activist, expelled while doing his second degree
Nelson Mandela18 July 1918 – 5 December 2013Former President of South Africa; expelled and later attended the University of the Witwatersrand but did not graduate
Lionel Ngakane17 July 1920 – 26 November 2003South African film maker
Seretse Khama1 July 1921 – 13 July 1980First President of Botswana
Julius Nyerere19 July 1922 – 14 October 1999First President of Tanzania
Herbert Chitepo15 June 1923 – 18 March 1975ZANU leader
Robert Sobukwe1924 – 27 February 1978Founder of the Pan Africanist Congress
Robert Mugabe21 February 1924 –Former President of Zimbabwe, attended 1949–1951
Kenneth Kaunda28 April 1924 –First President of Zambia
Allan Hendrickse22 October 1927 – 16 March 2005Politician, preacher, and teacher
Mangosuthu Buthelezi27 August 1928 –Leader of the Inkatha Freedom Party, never graduated but transferred to University of Natal. Leader of KwaZulu Bantustan in apartheid South Africa
Leepile Moshweu Taunyane14 December 1928 – 30 October 2013Life President of Premier Soccer League, President of the South African Professional Educators Union
Desmond Tutu7 October 1931 –Archbishop Emeritus, South African peace activist, Chaplain at Fort Hare in 1960
Frank Mdlalose29 November 1931 –First Premier of KwaZulu-Natal
Ivy Matsepe-Casaburriaa18 September 1937 – 6 April 2009Minister of Communications, South Africa
Manto Tshabalala-Msimang9 October 1940 – 16 December 2009Minister of Health of South Africa
Chris Hani28 June 1942 – 10 April 1993Leader of the South African Communist Party – Expelled, later graduated at Rhodes University.
Wiseman Nkuhlu5 February 1944 –economic advisor to former President Thabo Mbeki, Head of NEPAD
Makhenkesi Arnold Stofile27 December 1944 – 15 August 2016former Minister of Sport of South Africa
Sam Nolutshungu15 April 1945 – 12 August 1997South African scholar
Nyameko Barney Pityana7 August 1945 –lawyer and theologian, former Vice-Chancellor of the University of South Africa
Bulelani Ngcuka2 May 1954 –South Africa’s former Director of Public Prosecutions
Loyiso Nongxa1954-Vice-Chancellor of the University of the Witwatersrand
Joseph Diescho1955 –Namibian novelist
John Hlophe1 January 1959 –Judge President of the Cape Provincial Division of the High Court

Charles Mugane Njonjo 1920-, former Kenyan Attorney General and Minister for Constitutional Affairs
Munyua Waiyaki former Kenyan Minister for Foreign Affairs

Contact Us/Address:

Alice Campus
 Address: Ring Road, Alice, 5700
 Phone: 040 602 2011
Bhisho Campus
 Address: Independance Avenue, Bhisho, King Williams Town
 Phone: 040 608 3407
East London
 Address: 50 Church Street
 Phone: 043 704 7000