University Of Cape Town Faculty Of Medicine

By |

University Of Cape Town Faculty Of Medicine

University Of Cape Town Faculty Of Medicine

The Department of Medicine is a large academic and clinical division that is very active in undergraduate and graduate medical education and research. They offer therapeutic services to the Western Cape’s local populations and, in the case of highly specialized services, to clients all throughout southern Africa. The Department, which is based at Groote Schuur Hospital (GSH), has 18 clinical divisions and 10 significant research units that focus on areas such as immunology, porphyria, leukemia, aging, lung infections, chronic diseases, and HIV.

They have a strong commitment to research and a growing body of work in both fundamental and applied medical sciences. Patients are treated clinically by the personnel of the Groote Schuur Hospital, the main teaching hospital, as well as its affiliated regional hospitals, Victoria Hospital and Somerset Hospital, as well as the UCT Private Academic Hospital.

A satellite training facility for the department is the Department of Medicine at George Hospital. Internal medicine as a whole, including highly specialized fields like renal, cardiac, and liver transplants, is covered by the expertise.


The Department of Medicine comprises thirteen divisions and corresponding research units:

Divisions Research units within the divisions
Cardiology Hatter Institute for Cardiology Research
Clinical Haematology UCT Leukaemia Unit
Clinical Pharmacology
Endocrinology & Diabetic Medicine Chronic Diseases Initiative for Africa
Medical Gastroenterology
Geriatric Medicine Albertina & Walter Sisulu Institute of Ageing in Africa
Hepatology UCT Lennox Eales Porphyria Lab
Infectious Diseases Desmond Tutu HIV Centre
Mycobacterial Immunology Group
Nephrology & Hypertension
Lung Infection & Immunity Unit
Departmental Administration
Level 6, Entrance 2
Old Main Building
J Floor
Groote Schuur Hospital​
Cape Town 7925
South Africa

Both inpatient and outpatient therapies, including a laser unit, phototherapy, and Skin Day Care Unit, are provided by Clinical Dermatology. The third, fourth, and fifth years of the MBChB program all offer teaching opportunities, and postgraduate teaching occurs every day in outpatient clinics and during inpatient consultations. The Division of Dermatology does not have enough state-funded registrar training positions to handle the current clinical workload. We are fortunate to be able to train supernumerary registrars because, without them, we would be unable to fulfill our needs for clinical service and education. We have medical professionals from Zimbabwe, Botswana, Uganda, Zambia, and Chad in our four-year specialty training program.

Research Unit:

Contact Us

Tel +27 21 650 3002
Undergraduate Admissions
Tel +27 21 406 6328
Postgraduate Admissions
Tel +27 21 406 6340


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *