University Of Cape Town Dentistry

University Of Cape Town Dentistry

The Faculty of Dentistry at the University of the Western Cape (UWC) is the largest dental school in Africa. Located in Belville, near Cape Town the UWC Faculty of Dentistry offers the BChD (DDS) Degree, degree in dental hygiene, and post-graduate MChD, MSc(Dent) degrees.
The Faculty of Dentistry as it exists today inherits a rich history from both the University of the Western Cape and the University of Stellenbosch, drawing from the extensive academic backgrounds of both. In 1962 the University of Stellenbosch received approval to establish a Faculty of Dentistry and the site at Tygerberg Hospital was approved by the state. In 1971, foundations for the building were laid and provision was made for a fourth storey: the future home of UWC Faculty of Dentistry, a unique situation housing two faculties of dentistry under one roof. The first Dean of Dentistry at UWC, serving from the University of Stellenbosch, Prof HS Breytenbach, commenced duty on July 1, 1974. The symbiotic relationship between the two sister faculties continued up to 1992 when UWC moved to its new premises at Mitchell’s Plein. During this time, former president Nelson Mandela was a regular visitor for dental care to the Oral and Dental Teaching Hospital at Tygerberg during his stay at Robben Island Prison. Later, in 2004, the faculties of dentistry at UWC and Stellenbosch universities merged to form the combined Faculty of Dentistry at the University of the Western Cape as we know today.

University Of Cape Town Dentistry Courses

  • Baccalaureus Chirurgiae Dentium (BChD)
  • Baccalaureus Oral Health (B OH)
  • Magister Scientiae (Dentium) MSc(Dent)
  • Magister Chirurgiae Dentium MChD (OKA MDS)
  • Philosophiae Doctor PhD
  • Doctor Science in Odontology DSc (Odont)

Postgraduate Diploma in Dentistry (PDD):

  • PDD Aesthetic Dentistry
  • PDD Endodontics
  • PDD Forensic Dentistry
  • PDD Implantology
  • PDD Interceptive Orthodontics
  • PDD Maxillofacial Radiology
  • PDD Minor Oral Surgery
  • PDD Oral Pathology
  • PDD Paediatric Dentistry
  • PDD Sedation and Pain Control

Syllabi for MSC Degree

  • MSc (Dent) (Dental Public Health)
  • MSc (Dent) (Forensic Dentistry)
  • MSc (Dent) (Maxillofacial Radiology)
  • MSc (Dent) (Oral Medicine)
  • MSc (Dent) (Periodontology)
  • MSc (Dent) (Oral Medicine & Periodontology)
  • MSc (Dent) (Oral Pathology)
  • MSc (Dent) (Paediatric Dentistry)
  • MSc (Dent) (Restorative Dentistry)

Syllabi for Specialist MChD Degree

  • MChD (Community Dentistry)
  • MChD (Maxillofacial & Oral Surgery)
  • MChD (Oral Medicine and Periodontics)
  • MChD (Orthodontics)
  • MChD (Oral Pathology)
  • MChD (Prosthodontics)