University Of Cape Town Courses

By |

University Of Cape Town Courses


University Of Cape Town Courses

UCT is an inclusive and engaged research-intensive African university that inspires creativity through outstanding achievements in learning, discovery, and citizenship; enhancing the lives of its students and staff, advancing a more equitable and sustainable social order, and influencing the global higher education landscape.

In 2015 serious attention was given to courses impending graduation (CIGs). Many, but not all, of these courses, are required for many first-year programs, with large enrollments and great diversity in the background and ability of the class.

Choose your courses

Students who are studying abroad for a semester have access to a large selection of courses from five faculties. For a full semester’s credit load, choose up to four semester-length courses at the undergraduate (Bachelors’s) level or two to three semester-length courses at the postgraduate (Masters’s) level.

You can spend the first week trying out different classes even though your initial course selection is handled as part of the application procedure. You must confirm your choice with your faculty administration office by Friday of the first teaching week.

Finding the right course

Five of the seven faculties that make up UCT offer courses to exchange and study abroad students. Academic departments with a focus on particular subjects or disciplines are housed in each faculty office. The organization of course codes identifies the academic division, academic year, and semester. For the first, second, and third years of study in bachelor’s programs, the course codes are 1000, 2000, and 3000-level, respectively. 5000-level codes are used for masters courses. The suffixes ‘F’ and ‘S’ stand for courses offered in the First Semester (Feb-Jun) and the Second Semester (Jul-Nov), respectively.

Download each faculty handbook for details about available courses or click on the faculty link for more information about the academic departments and disciplines established in each faculty office.

The departments of the faculties are listed as follows:

Faculty of Commerce

  • College of Accounting
  • School of Economics (jointly established with the Faculty of Humanities)
  • Department of Finance and Tax
  • Department of Information Systems
  • School of Management Studies
  • Graduate School of Business

Faculty of Engineering and the Built Environment

  • Department of Architecture, Planning, and Geomatics
  • Department of Chemical Engineering
  • Department of Civil Engineering
  • Department of Construction Economics and Management
  • Department of Electrical Engineering
  • Department of Mechanical Engineering

Faculty of Health Sciences

  • Department of Anaesthesia and Perioperative Medicine
  • Department of Health and Rehabilitation Sciences
  • Department of Health Sciences Education
  • Department of Human Biology
  • Department of Integrative Biomedical Sciences
  • Department of Medicine
  • Department of Obstetrics and Gynaecology
  • Department of Paediatrics and Child Health
  • Department of Pathology
  • Department of Psychiatry and Mental Health
  • Department of Public Health and Family Medicine
  • Department of Radiation Medicine
  • Department of Surgery

Faculty of Humanities

  • School of African and Gender Studies, Anthropology and Linguistics
  • School of Dance
  • Department of Drama
  • School of Economics (jointly established with the Faculty of Commerce)
  • School of Education
  • Department of English Language and Literature
  • Center for Film and Media Studies
  • Michaelis School of Fine Art
  • Department of Historical Studies
  • School of Languages and Literatures
  • South African College of Music
  • Department of Philosophy
  • Department of Political Studies
  • Department of Psychology
  • Department of Religious Studies
  • Department of Social Development
  • Department of Sociology

Faculty of Law

  • Department of Commercial Law
  • Department of Private Law
  • Department of Public Law

Faculty of Science

  • Department of Archaeology
  • Department of Astronomy
  • Department of Biological Sciences
  • Department of Chemistry
  • Department of Computer Science
  • Department of Environmental and Geographical Science
  • Department of Geological Sciences
  • Department of Mathematics and Applied Mathematics
  • Department of Molecular and Cell Biology
  • Department of Oceanography
  • Department of Physics
  • Department of Statistical Sciences
Apply online

All postgraduate applicants must apply online. Visit to begin your application before the deadline date.

The Directions for Postgraduate Applications document can help guide you through this process.

If you’re a first-time visitor to the UCT online admissions website, you will need to create a new account. The only requirement for creating a new account is to have a valid email address that is not shared with another UCT applicant that you monitor regularly.

Contact us

Undergraduate inquiries

Postgraduate enquiries
Tel: +27 (0)21 650 2128
Postal address
Admissions Office
University of Cape Town
c/o Bremner Building Lower Campus
South Africa
Physical address
Admissions Office
University of Cape Town
Level 4
Masingene Building
Middle Campus
Cape Town
South Africa


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *