University Of Cape Town Computer Science

By |

University Of Cape Town Computer Science

University Of Cape Town Computer Science

The Department of Computer Science is amongst the strongest in the country and home to academic staff who are well-regarded both nationally and internationally. The Department plays an important role in local industry and provides services to industries through technology transfer and applied research.

The Department of Computer Science is part of the cross-Faculty School of IT Staff research interests are broadly focused on the following domains: Digital Libraries, Network and Information Security, Visual Computing, High-Performance computing and Big Data, and Information and Communication Technology (ICT) for Development. The department maintains links with many IT-based industries within the country, including those in telecommunications, scientific and high-performance computing, and visual effects and animation.

ICT for Development constitutes an important unifying theme amongst several staff members and this synergy led to the establishment of the Centre for ICT4D, a multi-disciplinary center supported by several international corporations. The department produces high-quality graduates with knowledge and skills relevant to the international and South African technology communities. A capstone Honours degree in Computer Science, accredited by the British Computer Society, provides graduates with opportunities for stimulating and well-paid careers both locally and abroad.

The Department of Computer Science at the University of Cape Town is a research-led department with a strong tradition of relevant teaching and community service.

Computer Science courses

The School of IT offers the following undergraduate courses from the Department of Computer Science. Click on the links for more information.

First-year courses

Credit will not be given for CSC1015F and CSC1016S together with CSC1010H and CSC1011H.

  • CSC1010H Computer Science 1010
  • CSC1011H Computer Science 1011
  • CSC1015F Computer Science 1015
  •  CSC1016S Computer Science 1016
  •  CSC1019F Foundations of Computer Programming for Engineers

Second-year courses

  • CSC2001F Computer Science 2001
  • CSC2002S Computer Science 2002
  • CSC2004Z Programming Assessment
  • CSC2005Z Independent Research in Computer Science

Third-year courses

  • CSC3002F Computer Science 3002
  • CSC3003S Computer Science 3003
  • CSC3022F C++ and machine learning
  • CSC3023F Computer Science 3023

Bachelor of Computer Science Programmes at UCT

The field of computer science offers the following degrees. For further information on the entrance standards, cost schedule, and thorough descriptions, please refer to the website’s webpage and the faculty handbooks.

Three Year Undergraduate Degrees
Bachelor of Science (BSc) in Computer Science
Bachelor of Science (BSc) in Business Computing
Bachelor of Science (BSc) in Computer Engineering
Bachelor of Science (BSc) in Computer Games Development

Postgraduate Degrees
BSc (Hons) in Computer Science
BSc (Hons) in Information Technology
MSc in Computer Science by Dissertation
MSc in Computer Science by Coursework and Dissertation
MSc in IT by Coursework and Dissertation
For more information about the department, follow the links in the menu.

Contact us
School of IT
Tel: +27 (0)21 6502261
Department of Computer Science
Tel: +27 (0)21 650 2663
Department of Information Systems
Tel: +27 (0)21 650 2261
Centre for Film & Media Studies
Tel: +27 (0)21 650 3373

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *