University Of Cape Town Campus

By |

University Of Cape Town Campus

The University of Cape Town (UCT) is a public research university located in Cape Town in the Western Cape province of South Africa. UCT was founded in 1829 as the South African College making it the oldest higher education institute in South Africa. It is jointly the oldest university in South Africa and the oldest extant university in Sub-Saharan Africa alongside Stellenbosch University which received full university status on the same day in 1918.
UCT is the highest-ranked African university in the QS World University Rankings, the Times Higher Education World University Rankings, and the Academic Ranking of World Universities, and its Law and Commerce Faculties are consistently placed among the hundred best internationally. It is the only African member of the Global University Leaders Forum (GULF), within the World Economic Forum, which is made up of 26 of the world’s top universities. The language of instruction is English.

Directions to UCT

UCT has 4 campuses:

  • Groote Schuur Campus in Rondebosch
  • Medical Campus in Observatory
  • Hiddingh Campus in the city
  • Breakwater Campus at Cape Town’s Waterfront, where the Graduate School of Business is located.

The Groote Schuur Campus is divided into 3 parts:

  • Upper Campus
  • Middle Campus
  • Lower Campus.