UCT Medical School

University Of Cape Town Medical School

The Department of Medicine is a large academic and clinical department which plays a leading role in undergraduate
and postgraduate medical education and research. We provide clinical services to the communities of the Western Cape
and, in the case of our highly specialised services, to patients throughout southern Africa.Based in Groote Schuur Hospital (GSH), the Department consists of 18 clinical divisions and 10 major research units, covering cardiology, ageing, leukaemia, lung infection, chronic diseases, porphyria, HIV and Immunology. We have a strong research ethic and a rising research output in both the basic and applied medical sciences.Our staff provide clinical care to patients in our principal teaching hospital, Groote Schuur Hospital, and in its associated regional hospitals: Somerset Hospital and Victoria Hospital, as well as in the UCT Private Academic Hospital. The Department of Medicine at George Hospital is a satellite training unit of the department. Our expertise spans the full spectrum of internal medicine, including highly specialised areas such as renal, cardiac and liver transplantation.


Contact Us

Tel +27 21 650 3002
Undergraduate Admissions

Postgraduate Student Administration: Admissions Unit
For all master’s degree and Postgraduate Diploma in Nursing applications:
Salega Tape
Tel: 021 406 6340
For all Postgraduate Diploma programmes (excluding Nursing), honours programmes and doctoral programmes:
Taryn-Lee Safers
Tel: 021 406 6028
Foreign doctors, registrar and sub-speciality training:
Thobeka Mngaza
Tel: 021 404 7768
For general enquiries:
Tel 021 650 2516